Facebook Link Preview for LakeCountyFL.gov
Lake County logo
Residents Visitors Business Government
You are here: Home > Departments > Commissioners
 Lake County Board of County Commissioners

Lake County is served by a Board of County Commissioners representing five districts in the County. Elected by the County at large, each serves a four-year term, in which the terms are staggered. District 2 Commissioner Sean M. Parks was named Chairman in December 2020

Lake County Board of County Commissioners
Doug Shields (District 1), Sean Parks (District 2), Kirby Smith (District 3), Leslie Campione (District 4), Josh Blake (District 5)

The Board of County Commissioners is the legislative branch of County government. Individual Commissioners are both lawmaking officers and fiscal representatives of the County. The County Manager and County Attorney are appointed by the Commissioners to oversee daily operations, personnel and legal matters.

The City of Tavares, situated between Mount Dora and Eustis, was founded more than a century ago by Major Alexander St. Clair Abrams, who built a railroad line through the town to support his lumber company business. In 1888, Tavares became the County seat.

The Commissioners appoint citizens to more than 30 different committees. Vacancies on these advisory boards are posted as the terms are fulfilled. Those interested in serving go through an application and selection process.

The Board normally meets in regular sessions the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at 9 a.m. In addition, the Board meets in work sessions whenever necessary to discuss matters of general importance. These meetings are generally held on the second Tuesday of each month at 9 a.m. Minutes are recorded of all Commission meetings, work sessions and public hearings, and made a part of the record.

Lake County BCC Copyright 2006
Home : Visitors : Residents : Business : Government : Directory of Services : Online Services