Facebook Link Preview for LakeCountyFL.gov
Lake County logo
Residents Visitors Business Government
You are here: Home > Media > News Releases > News Release
Keyword Search
Citizen Action Request
General Information
Lake County BCC
315 West Main St.
P.O. Box 7800
Tavares, Florida 32778

 News Release
Print Page Save Link

Three County Commissioners sworn into office at investiture ceremony

RELEASE DATE: November 21, 2012

TAVARES — Three Lake County Commissioners were sworn into office during an investiture ceremony held on Tuesday, Nov. 20 in the County Commission Chambers, located on the second floor of the Lake County Administration Building, 315 W. Main St., Tavares.

County Commissioners Timothy I. Sullivan - District 1, Jimmy Conner - District 3 and Welton G. Cadwell - District 5, took the oath of office during the ceremony attended by nearly 200 people.

Commissioner Sullivan will begin his first term on the County Commission. He previously served as a City Commissioner and Mayor of Fruitland Park, and as a Lake County School Board member. He also was on the Board of Directors of the Central Florida Health Alliance for 12 years, and retired in 2009 as Brigadier General from the Florida Army National Guard, completing a total of 33 years of military service.



Commissioner Conner was elected to his second term on the County Commission. A native of Lake County, he graduated from Tavares High School, Lake-Sumter Community College and Florida State University. Conner is a longtime Lake County business owner. In 1979, he founded Jimmy Conner & Associates, an insurance firm. His previous public service positions include three terms on the Lake County School Board, which he served as Chairman for three years, and a Tavares City Council member for 10 years with three terms as Council President.


Commissioner Welton CadwellCommissioner Cadwell is set to begin his sixth term on the Board. He previously served on the Umatilla City Council and as the City’s Clerk. He also was appointed as president of the Florida Association of Counties Board of Directors during 2005-2006, and is currently serving as chair of the National Association of Counties’ (NACo) Community and Economic Development Steering Committee and on the Board of Directors.


Lake County media contact:
Kelly LaFollette
Communications Director
Office: 352-343-9603; Cell: 352-455-0445

E-mail Subscription

Signup to receive a weekly, aggregated listing of Lake County's news releases via e-mail:

Privacy Policy, More Information
Lake County BCC Copyright 2006
Home : Visitors : Residents : Business : Government : Directory of Services : Online Services