For immediate release - September 7, 2005
TAVARES — The Lake County Building Division is encouraging contractors to begin preparing for changes in the state building codes, which will take effect later this year.
“As a result of the numerous investigations and fact-finding field observations connected with the wind events of last year, the Florida Building Commission has made a number of changes to the Florida Building Code-Building and the Florida Building Code-Residential that will take effect Nov. 1,” said Dale Greiner, Director of Lake County Building Division and a member of the Florida Building Commission.
The most notable changes are in the following areas:
- Weather protection — All exterior finishes shall be applied in accordance with the manufacturer’s specifications or installation instructions.
- Drained wall assembly over mass wall assembly — Where wood frame or other types of drained wall assemblies are constructed above mass wall assemblies, flashing or other approved drainage system shall be installed as required by s. 1405.3 or R703.8 respectively.
- Water-resistive barrier — Exterior walls of frame construction receiving a veneer shall be provided with a water-resistive barrier. The section goes on to describe such a barrier and also describes the necessity of a bond break for stucco installations.
- Testing and labeling of skylights — Skylights now have to be measured to certain standards.
- Installation instruction for exterior windows and doors — Windows and doors shall be installed in accordance with the manufacturer’s installation instruction.
- Plywood for roof sheathing — The 5/8” versus 7/16” plywood for roof sheathing issue has been resolved in favor of the 7/16”.
- Design standard — ASCE 7-02 will be the minimum design standard for buildings and other structures being constructed under the 2004 code.
- Design — Vinyl and acrylic panels shall be removable and labeled indicating that removal is required when winds reach 75 mph.
- Conditioned attic assemblies — Unvented conditioned attic assemblies will now be acceptable under specific conditions.
- Re-roofing — Not more than 25 percent of the total roof area or roof section of any existing building or structure shall be repaired, replaced or recovered in any 12-month period unless the entire roofing system or roof section is replaced to conform to requirements of this code.
These changes and additions will become available Nov. 1, along with the code changes and additions that come with the 2004 edition of the Florida Building Code effective Oct. 1. Both implementations of code changes will enhance the minimum requirements based upon the lessons learned from last year’s hurricanes.
Office: (352) 343-9609; Cell: (352) 455-0445