Did you know over 1,000 people are killed annually
on Florida roadways in alcohol-related crashes? You
don't even have to be the one drinking fo feel the
effects of alcohol. Innocent victims of traffic crashes
feel the effects of alcohol impairment on a daily basis

in Florida.

The consequences of drinking and driving aren’t
small. Other than the obvious risk of losing your life...
in Florida, a DUI conviction stays on your driving
record for 75 years and on your criminal record for
life! Every time you apply for a job, you will have to
check “yes” to the question, “Have you ever been

convicted of a crime?”

Drinking and driving is never a victimless crime!
Don’t underestimate the devastation that drinking and

driving causes.

Other Florida Laws
YOU Need to Know

Making the WRONG choice can quickly turn into serious
consequences.

If convicted for DUI with serious bodily injury:
Defendant is guilty of a third degree felony.

If convicted of DUI Manslaughter: Defendant is guilty
of second degree felony.

Possession of an alcoholic beverage under the age

of 21: 2nd degree misdemeanor with a fine up to
$500.

Operating a motor vehicle under the age of 21 with
a blood alcohol content of .02 or greater: Automatic
six-month suspension of driver’s license for a FIRST
offense.

Refusal to submit to a breath test requested by law
enforcement at ANY age: One-year automatic sus-
pension of driver’s license for first refusal. A person
who refuses to submit fo a breath test affer being
suspended for a previous refusal commits a first
degree misdemeanor.

Make the right choice. Don’t drink and drive!

ON'T 'NDEREST MATE

KNOW THE COST OF DRINKING AND DRIVING

Avoid Alcohol and Other Drugs
Never Ride with an Impaired Driver

Under Section 316.193, Florida Statutes, a person is guilty of DUI if the person is under the
influence of aleoholic beverages, any chemical substance, or any controlled substance when
affected to the extent that the person’s normal faculties are impaired. Section 562.111, ES.,
makes is illegal for a person under the age of 21 years to possess alcohol.
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ON'T  NDEREST MATE

KNOW THE COST OF DRINKING AND DRIVING




Under Section 316.193, Florida Statutes, o person is guilty of DUI if the person is under the influence of alcoholic beverages,
any chemical substance, or any controlled substance when affected to the extent that the person’s normal faculties are

Big Consequences.. The Laws...

Consequences of a DUI include:
* Immediate impoundment of the driver’s vehicle

¢ Legal ramifications including possible prison
time, alcohol addiction treatment, mandatory
community service, and a lengthy probation
period

e Driver’s license is revoked for a minimum of
180 days up to a full year

 The conviction stays on the offender’s driving
record for 75 years and on a criminal record
for life

The estimated cost of a DUI includes:

Towing Charge $150

Lawyer $3,500

Fines $500

Alcohol Education Course $150

Three-yecrs Insurance Surcharge $1,500

Loss of Work Time $1,000 i
Court Fees $450 O
Drug and Alcohol Evaluation $75 é’/

Alcohol Treatment
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TOTAL EXPENSES over $8,000

impaired. Section 562.111, FS., makes it illegal for a person under the age of 21 years fo possess alcohol.

THE LAWS Legal Fines Loss of License Loss of Vehicle Monitoring of Prison Time More Legeal

of DUI Driving Penalties
5500 (minimum) 180 Days 10 Days Mandatory Up to 6 Months Must complete DUI

Conviction ignition interlock school, serve up fo
Uﬁ;OBif’O? C; 5 Up ke | e device for Up fo @ months | year probation,
o hiah o ” BRI up to 6 months with BAL of .15 perform 50 hours
ar g .erH:)r W (for BAL of .15) or higher or with of community
m'ﬂ?? e minor in the service or pay
s vehicle additional fine
51,000 (minimum) |5 Years (minimum | 30 Days Mandatory Up to 9 Months Must complete DUI

Conyviction

Up to $4,000

if within 5 years)

If within 5 years

ignition interlock
device for 1 year

Up fo 12 months

school and remain
under supervision

Conviction

(within 10 years)

reinstatement
after 2 years

Third Degree
Felony: up to 5
Years in prison

with BAL of .15 | May be eligible with BAL of .15 : :

or higher or with ’cof hardship For 2 years if BAL | or higher or with s:::gg revocation

minor in the rc?;nsh;femem is greater than .20 | minor in the

vehicle e | year vehicle

Up to $5,000 10 Years 90 Days Mandatory 30 Days Must complete DUI
(minimum) ignition interlock Mandatory school and remain
May be eligible device for 2 years Imprisonment undler supervision
for hardship during revocation

period

$2,000 (minimum)

Conviction $4,000 minimum
(TCRUETRIOBETIN vith BAL of .15
or higher or with
minor in the
vehicle

$2,000 (minimum)

Conviction

Permanent

No hardship

reinstatement

Mandatory
ignition interlock
device for 1 year

For 2 years if BAL
is greater than .20

Up to 12 Months

4 This offender will

/' never drive again

Monitoring is no
longer an option

Third Degree
Felony: upto 5
Years in prison

Source: Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles




