@ Lake County, Florida
Department of Growth Management

LAKE COUNTY Development Processing
FLORIDA 352/343-9855 Fax: 352/343-9595

School Impact Fee Exemption for Older Person Housing
Rentals, Condominiums, and Cooperatives
Submittal Checklist
Section 22.14, Lake County Code

The County shall approve an exemption from school impact fees for housing for older persons if an Applicant satisfies
all the requirements set forth in Section 22.14, Lake County Code.

Submittal Requirements
The County shall consider a proposed School Impact Fee Exemption upon the submittal of the following materials:

OCo0oDo

Completed application.

Copies of all recorded Deed Restrictions for the subject property.
Opinion of Title showing all persons with interests in the subject property.
Executed School Impact Fee Agreement.

Review Procedure

After submittal of a complete application, the County Attorney’s Office will review the application for school impact fee
exemption. A signed “School Impact Fee Agreement” executed by the Applicant and County. The Applicant is
responsible for drafting a “School Impact Fee Agreement” which satisfies the requirements of Section 22-14(8) of the
Lake County Code. The Applicant will be issued a letter from the County Attorney’s Office approving or denying an
exemption for the subject property.

Suggested Language for School Impact Fee Agreement

Q

Owner shall not pay the School Impact Fees set forth in Section 22-22 of the County Code for all Units as long as
every person who lives on the premises is an adult. “Adult” shall mean 55 years of age or older, or other person at
least 40 years of age sharing a residence with a resident 55 years of age or older.

Owner shall at all times during this Agreement rent/ lease/ sell/ the Units to persons who are eighteen (18) years of
age or older in compliance with all applicable provisions or Part Il of Chapter 760, Florida Statutes, the Federal
Fair Housing Act, Title VIII of the Civil Rights Acts of 1968, as amended by the Fair Housing Amendments Act of
1988, and the Housing for Older Persons Act of 1995m 42 U.S.C. §83601-19, or its statutory successor in function.

If any Unit in the project is occupied by any person or persons under the age of eighteen (18), then the School
Impact Fee shall be immediately due for all Units at the then current rate as set forth by the Lake County Code.
“Occupied” shall mean any person who stays overnight in a Unit more than 21 days in any 60 day period or more
than 30 days in any 12 month period. The School Impact Fee shall become due and payable as of the date that
the disqualified Unit that the Unit no longer qualified as housing for older persons.

In the event that School Impact Fees become due and payable, County shall provide written notice to Owner.
Upon failure of Owner to pay the School Impact Fee within thirty (30) days of the date of notice, a notice of lien
shall be served advising Owner that the County shall file a claim of lien. Once recorded, the claim of lien may be
foreclosed as provided for in Chapter 170, Florida Statutes, Chapter 173, Florida Statutes, or any other applicable
law. Upon recordation, the lien for unpaid impact fees shall be coequal with a lien for state, county, special district,
and municipal taxes and is superior in dignity to any subsequently file liens.

All rights and obligations arising as described herein are intended to be appurtenances and covenants running with

the Property and shall be binding upon and inure to the benefit of the parties, their respective assigns or
successors in interest or title.

Page 1 of 5



Lake County, Florida

@ Department of Growth Management
Development Processing
LAKE COUNTY
FLORIDA SCHOOL IMPACT FEE EXEMPTION APPLICATION
DATE File #

Owner(s) of Property

Signature of Owner(s)

Name Phone ( )
Address

Street City State Zip Code
Name Phone ( )
Address

Street City State Zip Code
Representative Name Phone ( )
Address

Street City State Zip Code

Property information:

Please provide a complete legal description of the property for which you are requesting an exemption and
attach a copy of the current Warranty Deed.

Is the property platted? If so, please provide Official Records/ Plat Book & Page. Recorded in Official

Records/ Plat Book Page

Please attach copies of all recorded Deed Restrictions and provide Official Records Book & Page.
Recorded in Official Records Book Page

Recorded in Official Records Book Page

Recorded in Official Records Book Page

How many dwelling units will be located on the property?
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Please give a brief description of the proposed development.

Are any structures currently in place? If so, please describe.
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APPLICANT’S AFFIDAVIT

STATE OF FLORIDA)
COUNTY OF LAKE)

BEFORE ME, the undersigned authority personally appeared ,
who being by me first duly sworn on oath, deposes and says:

That he/she affirms and Certifies that he/she understands and will comply with all Ordinances, Regulations,
and Provisions of Lake County, Florida, and that all statements, drawings, and diagrams submitted herewith
are true and accurate to the best of his/her knowledge and belief, and further, that this application and
attachments shall become part of the Official Records of Lake County, Florida, and are NOT
RETURNABLE.

(Applicant’s Signature)

Sworn to and Subscribed before me this day of , 20
(___) Personally known to me.

(__) Produced
(Type of Identification)

(__ ) Did or (__ ) Did not take an Oath.

NOTARY PUBLIC, STATE OF
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES
(Seal)

Revised
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OWNER'’S AFFIDAVIT

STATE OF FLORIDA)

COUNTY OF LAKE)

BEFORE ME, the undersigned authority personally appeared ,
who being by me first duly sworn on oath, deposes and says:

1. That he/she is fee-simple owner of the property legally described on page 1 of this application, AND
2. That he/she desires a School Impact Fee Exemption Determination, AND
3. That he/she has appointed to act as agent in his/her

behalf to accomplish the above.

(Owner’s Signature)

Sworn to and Subscribed before me this day of ,20
(__) Personally known to me.
(__) Produced for Identification.

(Type of Identification)
(__) Did or (___) Did not take and oath.

NOTARY PUBLIC, STATE OF
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES
(Seal)

NOTE: All applications shall be signed by the owner or owners of the property, or some person duly
authorized by the owner or owners to sign. The authority authorizing a person, other than the owner,
must be attached.
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